Song Review: Seven O’Clock – Searchlight

Nothing Better may be the main title track from Seven O’Clock’s new mini album, but it turns out that there is something better to be found in the form of Searchlight. I’m not sure if the guys will be actively promoting this song as a sub-title track, but it was smart to give it some attention — even if it’s in the form of a low-budget (and overly filtered) music video.

Like Nothing Better, Searchlight calls back to K-pop’s recent past. But by streamlining its focus, the song increases its power. This is the kind of spacey, synth-based dance pop that used to be ubiquitous before Korea discovered tropical sounds. It’s paired with a melodic heft that allows for a welcome use of the guys’ impressive vocals. There are no energy-killing breakdowns or meandering verses to be found. Seachlight is a song that knows what it wants to be, and that single-mindedness helps craft a solid structure that pays off.

The instrumental chugs along with a constant sense of build, cresting during the first half of the extended chorus. I’d never paid much attention to Seven O’Clock’s voices before, but they’re given a wonderfully layered effect here that is immediately captivating. It all climaxes in a final, key-change chorus that brings the kind of dramatic arrangement most of this year’s K-pop has been missing. Searchlight lacks that one extra piece that would transform it into a total showstopper, but it’s an undeniably strong effort from a group that many had likely written off after such a lengthy hiatus.

 Hooks 9
 Production 9
 Longevity 8
 Bias 9
 RATING 8.75


8 thoughts on “Song Review: Seven O’Clock – Searchlight

  1. This sounds like a BigBang Alive album b-side coupled with a low budget rendition of T-ara’s Number Nine, and honestly I can’t even be mad about it, because it sounds great. Woulda given it like a solid 9

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s almost there for me, but still feels a little faceless to earn a hallowed 9+ score from me. (You’ve probably noticed that 9’s have been in short supply this year)


  2. Pingback: Song Review: AlphaBat – New World | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

  3. Pingback: Song Review: N.Tic – Do You Know Who I Am? | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

  4. Pingback: Top Three K-Pop Songs of October 2018 | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

  5. Pingback: Song Review: Seven O’Clock – Get Away | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

  6. Pingback: Song Review: Seven O’Clock – Midnight Sun | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

  7. Pingback: Song Review: Omega X – Vamos | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.