Song Review: JJ Project – Tomorrow, Today

Before there was GOT7, JJ Project debuted with soon-to-be members JB and Jinyoung. Their 2012 single Bounce was a fun, uptempo party track that blended a wide assortment of genres to create an addictive burst of k-pop energy. In the years since, GOT7’s material has strayed away from the “fun” side of things to explore a darker r&b sound. So it’s no surprise that JJ Project’s long-awaited comeback also tackles a mature style with its reflective lyrics and wistful vocals.

In a way, the harmonic soft rock of Tomorrow, Today (내일, 오늘) sounds like something fellow JYP artists DAY6 would release. And it shares a composer in “Collapsedome,” the moniker given to one of the agency’s more prolific in-house producers. This is nothing but a good thing, because it guarantees the song takes a more melodic approach rather than rely on production tricks and a sense of practiced swag. A sub-unit’s material should sound different than the main group, and Tomorrow, Today definitely achieves that.

As a spotlight for JB and Jinyoung’s vocals, the song is nearly perfect. The two have an incredible blend, delivering an immaculately smooth performance throughout. They’re given plenty of opportunities to harmonize, and that excellent teamwork really drives Tomorrow. The song’s production is similarly polished, offering a laidback rock beat accentuated by wisps of guitar and mellow keys. If anything, Tomorrow could have done with a stronger chorus. The track’s focus on melody is its strength, but the general structure is not all that dynamic. Of course, bombastic arrangement really isn’t the point when it comes to this type of song. Tomorrow, Today is all about sentiment, and with that in mind the song knocks it out of the park.

 Hooks 8
 Production 9
 Longevity 9
 Bias 8
 RATING  8.5


9 thoughts on “Song Review: JJ Project – Tomorrow, Today

  1. Pingback: Top Three K-Pop Songs of July 2017 | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

  2. Pingback: KCON L.A. 2017 Recap – 5 Takeaways from North America’s Biggest K-Pop Gathering | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

  3. Pingback: Song Review: GOT7 – You Are | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

  4. Pingback: The Top 50 Best K-Pop Songs of 2017 (Day One: 50-41) | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

  5. Pingback: Song Review: JUS2 (JB & Yugyeom) – Focus On Me | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

  6. Pingback: Song Review: GOT7 – Eclipse | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

  7. Pingback: Song Review: GOT7 – Love Loop | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

  8. Pingback: Song Review: Kim Kookheon & Song Yuvin – Blurry | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

  9. Pingback: Song Review: GOT7 – Encore | The Bias List // K-Pop Reviews & Discussion

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.